Executive Committee

Baha’i

Sheri Dressler  <sedressler@gmail.com>
 

Buddhist

Claudia Schippert  <claudiaschippert@gmail.com>
Ina Denton  <inadenton@ibps.org>
 

Christian

Bob Bushong <ds-ec@flumc.org>

 

Louis Canter  <lcanter@hredeemer.org>

 

Kelvin Cobraris <aacccpresident@gmail.com>

 

Rudi CleareRudolph Cleare  <rucleare@negrospiritual.org>

 

 

 

 

 

JimCoffinJames Coffin  <jim@interfaithfl.org>
 
 
 
 
Gus Davies
Gus Davies  <gus.davies@northlandchurch.net>
 
 
 
Danny de Armas <dannydearmas@firstorlando.com>
 
Lynette Fields  <lfields@st.lukes.org>
 
Fulwider, Bryan
Bryan G. Fulwider  <bryan@buildingus.org>   
 
 
 
Joel Hunter <drjoelchunter@crncfl.org>
 
James Morris <ctcmec.pastor.morris@gmail.com>
 
Martin Nguyen  <mnguyen@stjamesorlando.org>   
 
 
 
robert ray
Robert J. Ray   <robert.ray@nrmafla.com>   
 
 
 
 
Kayleen Stroud <stroudkk@gmail.com
 

Hindu

Abhinav Dwivedi   <abhinav@hua.edu>
Rana Tiwari  <rana.tiwari@gmail.com>
 

Humanist*

David WilliamsonDavid Williamson is a state/church activist and community organizer in Central Florida. He is co-founder of the Central Florida Freethought Community and founder of the Suncoast Skeptics in Sarasota. In addition to his service on the Florida Humanist Association Board and other local organizations, David is on the Advisory Board of the Center for Freethought Equality. He is a certified Humanist celebrant, having been ordained by the Humanist Society to serve as an ambassador of humanism, ceremony officiant, and scholar of humanism.

<david@cflfreethought.org>

Jocleyn Williamson

Jocelyn Williamson, a lifelong Humanist and President of the Florida Humanist Association, holds an M.B.A. as well as an undergraduate degree in Political Science. She co-founded and is a director of the Central Florida Freethought Community, which is working to build a secular community and to keep religion out of government in Central Florida. She also founded the Science League for Kids, a local group that is an alternative to the Boy Scouts for boys and girls, ages 6 to 12, as well as a Skeptical Parenting Group on Facebook.

Jocelyn is a university business instructor.  Prior to working in education, Jocelyn worked for years in international marketing. After living and working in such varied places as Denmark, Japan, and the Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus, she has settled in Central Florida, where she enjoys kayaking, gardening, all things related to science fiction, the arts, and politics.

<prof@cfl.rr.com>

* Humanism is not a faith tradition, and Humanists don’t wish to have Humanism categorized as a religion. However, Humanist does provide a lens through which Humanists view issues of justice, religious freedom, care for the earth and a wide array of other social and moral issues. Because the overlapping concerns of Humanists and members of the faith traditions that make up the Interfaith Council of Central Florida, the Interfaith Council has invited the Central Florida Freethought Community to have a representative with “observer status” on the Interfaith Council Executive Committee. The goal is to facilitate communication and cooperation in those areas of mutual concern. David and Jocelyn Williamson share the role of representative.

 

Jewish

rabbi_dkay.jpg_small

Rabbi David Kay has served Congregation Ohev Shalom in Maitland (Orlando), Florida, since 2004, now as the synagogue’s lead rabbi. Active in interfaith dialogue for many years, Rabbi Kay serves on the Executive Committee of the Interfaith Council of Central Florida, and facilitates the annual interfaith/multicultural celebration of the life and legacy of Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., in coordination with the City of Orlando.

A native of Chicago, Rabbi Kay earned his Bachelor of Science degree in Ecology, Ethology, and Evolution from the University of Illinois. After two decades playing music and working for an animal welfare and advocacy agency, he returned to his earlier ambition of entering the rabbinate, being ordained by the Jewish Theological Seminary of America in 2002, at the age of 46.

Rabbi Kay combined his interests by contributing to the book, And God Said, “Let There Be Evolution!” – Reconciling the Book of Genesis, the Qur’an, and the Theory of Evolution, launching a community Jewish á capella group, and periodic musical performances. He is a member of the Jewish Community Relations Council of the Jewish Federation of Greater Orlando, and of the Greater Orlando Board of Rabbis. He regularly participates in community and interfaith events, and teaches and presents at local colleges and universities.

Rabbi Kay and his wife, Joanne, live in Orlando, and are the proud parents of Jonah, a graduate of the Joint Program of Columbia University and Albert A. List College.

<RabbiKay@ohevshalom.org>

 

Muslim

Hatim HamidullahHatim Hamidullah   <hhamidullah@hotmail.com>
 
  

 

Sikh 

JSB_0052-2 copyJasbir Singh Bhatia   <jsbhatia1@yahoo.com>
 
 
 
nav khalsa
Navtej Khalsa is a Regional Director of the Sikh American Legal Defense and Education Fund (SALDEF). SALDEF is the oldest Sikh civil rights advocacy group in America, with its national office in Washington D.C. Khalsa formerly served as the executive director of the organization. Khalsa is past president of the Sikh Society of Central Florida. He is also an active member of several other Sikh and interfaith organizations.
<navkhalsa@gmail.com>  

Unitarian Universalist  

Schmitz ProfileKathy Schmitz   <kschmitz@uuma.org>